Trafficking Awareness Month

Standard
Trafficking Awareness Month

Recently I was reminded that January is National Human Trafficking Awareness Month. Let me update you with some of the unimaginable statistics–

  • $32 billion was made by traffickers last year.
  • 18.5 million slaves are in India, mostly women and children
  • 99% of all sex slaves are female.

Katharine Bushnell, the heroine of my last two books– Daughters of Deliverance and The Queen’s Daughters — was one of the early pioneers to expose the dire plight of women and #girls around the world. But she was not honored or thanked by her audiences. Victorian era women did not want to hear how cruelly their counterparts were treated , and most men refused to believe the truth.

In the nineteenth century Kate, as she is called in my books, courageously entered brothels, and chaklas (in India), to listen to the stories of the women held in sexual slavery. People were shocked to hear Kate’s stories–some even shamed her publicly for speaking about such things.

Today we have no excuse for our ignorance, for many Christian organizations are dedicated to preventing sex slavery and working to rescue girls wherever they can.

I plan to tell you more about those organizations in future blogs.You may want to start by reading Bushnell’s story of 19th century fearless activism to expose the growing subjugation of women and girls. Available on Amazon.

About lorrylutz.com

My husband and I spent 22 years working with African young people in South Africa under Apartheid, which deepened my passion for the disenfranchised. During regular returns to the US I earned my MA in Communications at Wheaton Graduate School. Later I became head of publications for Partners International and edited a quarterly magazine. In the 90's I directed the AD2000 Women's Track networking with thousands of international women leaders in Christian ministry. I have written/published twelve books on missions, biography, fiction, most recently two biographical novels about Dr. Katharine Bushnell, nineteenth century crusader against what is known today as trafficking. Daughters of Deliverance and The Queen's Daughters are available in Kindle as well as print on Amazon. I was married to Allen, now deceased, my lifelong sweetheart. We had four sons,( one deceased,) one daughter, and 18 grandchildren. How can I help but praise God for the full life He's given me, and the opportunities even in my senior years, to live purposefully.

Leave a comment